Learning Javascript but get lost

Problem: I have finished one-third of “Basic Javascript” in free code camp but totally get lost now.

Reason of problem: There are instructions and examples, I could follow them, but I don’t know why I should learn, how they are useful. Lots of dots, but cannot draw a line. Feeling is like, a painting teacher asks me to follow him, but I don’t know what is the picture i am going to paint.

Background: I am a programming beginner, i am ok with html/css and bootstrap in Free Code Camp, not learned other languages.

My questions:

1/ May I have some advice?
2/ Shall I stop or keep going with Free Code Camp?
3/ People recommend this course, shall I learn from here instead?

Thank you so much!

I also had the same thing first time.Then I finished Udacity intro to JS and after I came back here and feel myself more confident

1 Like

Okay, I have been through this phase a lot of times. Maybe I could help a little. Let me try and answer your questions one at a time:

1. There are instructions and examples, I could follow them, but I don’t know why I should learn, how they are useful?
When we tend to focus on why we are doing whatever we are, the right question to ask yourself is "Is learning ‘this’ exactly what I ‘want’ to learn right now?". If there’s no willpower, the reasons to do something get smaller and smaller. So let us assume that you have a genuine interest in learning JS, which takes us to the next question:

2. Lots of dots, but cannot draw a line. The feeling is like, a painting teacher asks me to follow him, but I don’t know what is the picture I am going to paint.