Learning to code while holding down full-time job?

Hey all, first-time poster. I knew some code in high-school (nothing huge, just enough to build a calculator in Java as a school project), but decided to go the health-care route, and have been working as a pharmacist for 3 years. Last last year, feeling pretty burnt out and jaded from my current work, I tried picking up programming again, this time trying to learn python, but after 2-3 weeks, I hit a brick wall: the basics came pretty easy, but past a certain point, it became harder to remember all the ‘formats’ and ‘techniques’ of code and whatnot. I assume that those who went to school for computer science, or went to bootcamp, probably coded for hours a day, and through structured learning and repetition, memorized much of the essentials. But for those who opted for the self-taught route, especially while working full-time, how did you do it? Roughly how much time a day would you devote to programming? What resources did you utilize? Did the memorization come from brute repetition of writing different variations of the same program(s)?

1 Like

Being a self taught programer ,Biefly, the time will depend on what you want.

By my experience, when you cannot find solutions for a problem you ll be tempted to give up. You ll probably said to yourself that programming is not for you, that its better to be concentered to your actual job rather than doing something you re not called for.
Writing different variations could help but me I used to go to a higher level of difficulty because in this case you ll inevitably face to code you ll already done.
When i started , i had algorithm problem to resove, such as sort algorithm… I remenber having spent 3 days trying to resolve insertion sort by myself by just reading its definition.
My persistence allowed me to understand basic concepts, and I gave a goal, become a fullstak developer.