LinkedIn Profile - How do you dress it up?

Hello all, This is my first post here, so I’m glad I finally have something worthwhile to post about (at least hopefully).

I was wondering how do you guys set up your LinkedIn profile whether you’re looking to be recruited full time or looking for freelance projects? Are there best practices that you follow to dress up your profile?

I am a long time tech enthusiast and started my career in programming before I took a few detours along the way and ended up in real estate. Now I’m getting back to it and so would appreciate any feedback you may have about how I am presenting myself on LinkedIn Linked-In Profile for Kayvon Shahir.

Thanks in advance for all your tips and feedback.

-K-von

It looks pretty good.

I don’t think of a LinkedIn profile as something that needs to be “dressed up”. To me it’s more about content. Just go through and make sure as much content is in there as possible. Other than that, there is just expanding your network and (if you want) posting content that will attract readers and discussion.

There is debate over the importance of LinkedIn. In some areas it is vital, in others it is all but unused. But it certainly can’t hurt.

1 Like

I can’t see your profile, as you have to log in to LinkedIn to see it, and I won’t. (I’m not at all happy with their level of surveillance . I’ve left my profile there for employers who insist that their applicants have one, but I stopped updating it years ago.)

Make sure that your experience section contains keywords/buzzwords of your top skills so recruiters can find you when they search for people with those skills.

You can ask people to write you a recommendation, and then recruiters will see that people have recommended you.