Looking for specific career advice

Hello all,

My name is Bella. I have a software degree but then ended up working in a bank for 11 years as a financial service representative. But coding was always something I was good at in college and my passion for problem solving has made me decide to switch my career to software.

My problem is that I do have a CS degree but no work experience in this industry. I am also currently working and I don’t want to quit my job to attend a bootcamp/college. I have started with a few courses on Python and working my way towards finishing it but have no idea what to study next.

I thought I would search for qualifications for a junior developer role on indeed but most of them require experience and ask for expertise in so many languages/concepts that I am getting confused. How can I get started at an entry level job in this industry with my current skills and I can keep learning/updating myself on new concepts on the job or on the side?

What I know :

C
C++
Python (in progress)
HTML, CSS & JavaScript (in progress on freecodecamp)
A little knowledge of algorithms and problem solving

If someone can give me advice on the steps I need to take to make me job ready, I would appreciate it.

Hey Bella,

nice to meet you! :wave:

Look out for the companies you want to work for. Find their niches and which implementation details (e.g. programming languages) are the biggest ones in this niche/field (e.g. Python in Data Science). Connect to people who work in this company and in your desired position and research (e.g. on Linkedin) what they are good at and their journey.

hey Bella
I know exactly your situation, I graduated with a degree in CS and was stuck in human resources administrative work for 8 years.
I am currently learning web dev from scratch, and luckily landed a position in coding which helps being exposed.