Love Javascript... Hate CSS

Hey everyone,

I completed the HTML/CSS module by the skin of my teeth. Found CSS really difficult to understand- there were so many things that seem almost identical and the structure was so complex? I lost track and I’m just generally not motivated by the aesthetics of a project, so I wasn’t very inspired to get into it.

By contrast, I love the Javascript module and have been making little problem-solving projects along the way just for fun.

My question is- how much can you specialize in one type of coding (logical/problem solving) over another (aesthetics)? Or is this a false dichotomy? I’m new to tech altogether, so I really don’t know what real world coding entails.

Thanks for any help,

Kate

Join the club. A lot of people hate CSS.

My question is- how much can you specialize in one type of coding (logical/problem solving) over another (aesthetics)? Or is this a false dichotomy?

I think it’s more an issue of what you are trying to do. If you are going to be doing frontend work, then you’re going to deal with CSS.

Like I said, I hate CSS. But I’m also a React Native developer, which is frontend, so, I have to do CSS (or at least RN’s version of it). I don’t spend my whole day doing it, but I do do it. But like anything, the more you do it, the better you get.

1 Like

Do you do freelance work or work at a company? How big is the job market for React Native developers?

I think most people just don’t attack the problem of learning CSS the same way they do JS. It almost seems like people expect CSS to work without any necessary prerequisites.

You wouldn’t get very far with JS if you didn’t spend a lot of time learning how it works and why things work the way they do. You can approach CSS the same way you do JS. Read the docs, read the specs, and try to understand how it works. Why should good CSS code be so much easier to write than good JS code?