Movie App and Watchlist Maker made with React

Link to the app
CineFlix

Hi everyone, I`d like some feedback on this app I made. It is a movie app that shows latest movies and gives users to search for any movie they want. You can also maintain your own watchlist by signing in with Google.
I made it using the following technologies-
-React
-Redux
-Firebase(Auth)
-React Spring
-Axios
-Material UI

I have been teaching myself to code for a few months now. I come from a totally unrelated background but would like to make a career switch into the world of Software Development. Would love to hear some tips and advice from you all.
Thanks

5 Likes

Nice work!

This looks really good, and I like that it’s quite minimal in the design. It works really well as a landing page since you know where to look with the eye-catching title and film images.

In terms of the design, I really like it. I think it could be even better if there was more space. Things look squashed together to me.

Another thing that could be improved is the loading. Try to throttle your connection in the network tab of Chrome DevTools, and you’ll notice that the layout can shift as it loads slowly. You already know the dimensions of the images, so maybe you could wrap them in a container to occupy that space before they load.

Those spring animations are smooth, and the code looks nice and organized!

1 Like

A few accessibility enhancements for the main page:

• When I Tab through the films with my keyboard I do not see any keyboard focus indicator on the links. I think you should add a custom focus indicator.

• Likewise, I can barely see the focus indicator on the “Sign In” button. I think you should make it much more visible.

• I think the .footer div is just made for a <footer> tag. And the .home div that contains all of the movies would make a great <main> tag.