Moving Codepen Portfolio to a real URL

Hi everyone. I’m very new to coding and my only experience with it is on FCC and Codepen. I was wondering if someone could give a general guide as to how I take my Codepen portfolio project and move that to Dreamhost so it can be a real website. I already registered my domain name with Dreamhost, but I can’t figure out how to add my code there and make my website go live. I know how to export my code, but I dont know what the steps are between that and actually getting the code to become a website, if that makes sense.

Yeah, that is an awkward transition.

First of all, in bottom right on codepen is a button for “export”. You can export the files in a zip format. When you unzip them, you basically have the files you need for a functioning web site. I seem to remember they were formatted oddly, but it should work.

Beyond that, if you know how to set-up a basic html file web page, you can just cut and paste the code in the correct places. A step further would be to put the JS and CSS in their own files.

Then you just have to find a place to host them. I don’t know dream host, but that should work. You just have to put them in the right folder.

I would look for videos like “build simple web site from scratch” and stuff like that. It’s not that hard, but it is weird at first.

Thank you. So what I have now is I took the “index.html” file and “style.css” file from the “src” folder that I got from exporting and uploaded those two files into the file manager on Dreamhost. When I type my URL (http://www.grahamwilliams.tech/) into my browser on my machine, I can see the HTML displaying but no CSS. If I put it into my phone browser (chrome) it give me a 404 error. Any ideas? I’ll post my code as well.

make sure that you are importanting the css file in the html with the correct file path

1 Like

When I inspect your site in the dev tools, I see that one of your CSS files is failing to load:

Screen Shot 2021-07-27 at 6.53.46 AM