My face is getting flat from slamming into walls! (or how do I get better at coding?)

Thanks for taking the time out to read my post. I’ve been using FCC for about a couple months and I’ve arrived at the section where I have to start solving basic algorithms (without examples). I was successful in solving the first one but after that, I wasn’t able to solve anything else without having to look up how other people have done it and I know that’s not how I’ll learn. After failing to solve them by researching and going back to earlier lessons, I’ve realized that my knowledge has many holes and that there are also methods that are used to solve the problems that have not been taught in the curriculum. The help forums are very hit and miss for me. Sometimes I am able to get someone to help me out especially when I was doing the simpler exercises. But I do believe that most of the trouble comes from not having enough knowledge about what kind of data manipulation is possible with JS. One thing that did help was doing JS exercises on codeacademy and then coming back to FCC because I was able to go over the same concepts several times. Here on FCC, it seems that I learn a new lesson once without coding a different problem. Any tips on how to improve my coding skills?

1 Like

@martyk311 It’s the purpose of the skill challenges, and projects to build up your skill. Being new to programming, it will take time, practice, research and patience to become better. With each challenge, FCC provides links to documentation. Reading documentation is apart of discovering how to use a specific technology. Then, if the documentation doesn’t help, you can Google on the subject. Taking pieces of information to create a solution is the “development” way of life. So, best advice, stick with it and have patience.