My interviewer belittle FCC projects

Hi everyone. I’m a third-year software engineering student. I’ve learned web development by myself on FCC for 2 months and finished all learning projects and the 2 first Take Home projects.

Currently, I’ve applied for front-end internship at a company. In the interview, my interviewer said that FCC projects was too small, they’re not even worth mentioning. I was sad about his words.

What do you experts in the field think about his opinion? Thank you!

I think just take the feedback openly and keep your chin up. As blant as it may be , depending on the company you apply for most businesses do not have time to closely guide you.

Some companies like my company i work for have to self reliant to be able to adapt. So understandably they have to be transparent about it.

Use this feedback as motivation to improve build projects outside fcc projects and opportunities will definately come. Its better than they hire you and you cant do the job.

2 Likes

I’m not an expert, but speaking from my own experience doing the FCC curriculum, interviewing for jobs, and in general teaching myself, there’s a LOT to learn even if you’re just focusing on front-end development. I’d also agree with the interviewer—your post wasn’t very specific about how much of the FCC curriculum that you’ve completed, but if you’ve been in it for 2 months, that’s not really long enough to be job-ready yet. Although for an internship, that might be different, but even then, 2 months still feels short.