Necessary to learn web development if my goal is being a software engineer?

Hi all, a newbie here.

Just signed up and saw the recommendation of “starting from the beginning”, but most of the courses are web development related (html, css, java script etc.). I’d like to ask if my goal is to be a software engineer, is it necessary to learn the web development courses?

A bit background of myself: I did loads of courses on DataCamp, am proficient in Python. Built some small projects in Python previously. But most of what I did was completely in Python.

I think I am going to start with “Data Analysis with Python Certification” on FreeCodeCamp (Seems I’ve done all those content on DataCamp, but I’ll give it a try). I am not sure if I should follow the recommendation of “start from the beginning”.

Any insights welcomed! Thanks

Kenny

1 Like

the Python section doesn’t go as deep in data structures and algorithms as the JavaScript one, it considers those things already learned.

That said, if you are not interested in web dev, do not learn web dev

maybe the freeCodeCamp youtube channel has more itneresting stuff for you, there is much more variatey of languages in the tutorials there

3 Likes

@kennykenny.l You might want to focus on algorithms and data structures. If you used Javascript as your main language then the web would be involved since Javascript runs in the browser. You may find it interesting and anything you learn is time well spent.

1 Like

Hi @kennykenny.l, welcome to freeCodeCamp!

FreeCodeCamp’s curriculum is oriented primarily to web development, and with Python data-science. The primary reasons for this is the web is the accessible way to learn how to code, and still has a large demand in jobs that will continue to grow for the foreseeable future.

This doesn’t mean freeCodeCamp provides the only way to become a software engineer, but it does provide a path to become a web developer.