Freecodecamp guide

I know this may come across as being really obvious, but I reckoned it wouldn’t hurt to ask

I’m new to this page, and I want to learn python certification. But the website suggests starting from the very beginning. Knowing each certification is approx 300 hours, and python isn’t introduced until the 7th course, should I skip to it, or do I need to learn about Responsive Web design (1st cert) and Java script Algorithms and Data structure (2nd cert) and so on, before I get down to python or nah?

I’m more than happy to start with the first certification if I really have to. Just want to save time where I can

If you are not interested in web development, then you can skip that. The Python stuff is kind of in a world on its own.

Thank you! I figured cause It’s not really anything I’m interested in atm. How about the second certification. I’m assuming it’d be important to understand data structures and Algorithims, unless it’s exclusively covered in the python cert too. Just wondering cause I’m not interested in Java atm either.

The second cert deals with JavaScript, which is an important language win web dev, but is also used outside web dev and in that cert they deal with it outside of a web dev context. That goes more into depth on data structures and algorithms that the Python stuff does afaik. Even though it’s in another language, the concepts are what is important.

One thing to keep in mind is that the Python section was designed with the assumption that students would have completed earlier sections. You don’t need any specific knowledge from the JavaScript lessons, but you may find that the Python course doesn’t cover fundamental basics very thoroughly.

1 Like