Newbie question

I started learning about html, css and javascript about a few days ago. I study 5-6 hrs/day of coding, do you think I can land a job 5-months from now? like junior or JS developer?

1 Like

thank you man! your words made me realise something! actually I’m switching career from tech support to a dev

Learn it first. Be confident. Then apply for the job. You will definitely get one.All the best :grinning:

hey @daGrayMan don’t just complete a challenge and move on to the next one, reset the code and do it again, because you won’t properly understand the code on the first try, this is from personal experience. If you complete the challenges without understanding them; when u get a job you will struggle very hard because you didn’t understand the concept. Also learn at your own pace doesn’t matter if u take 1 year or 1 month to finish, all what matters is quality not quantity.

4 Likes

I have been wondering this for a while and I’m glad this was your experience too! I thought I was too stupid to learn but I see that everyone struggles during this process.

If you’ve done the javascript exercises and did not understand them that well, would you suggest reading a book? making a few projects? and then coming back and trying again without help?

Everyone learns differently. I used to learn well by reading books. I’ve now learned that I learn best through videos, although I’ve also learned that most videos are not as sharp as the books I’ve read! I can’t win! I wish I learned best by reading books, perhaps I need to teach myself how to learn by reading better.