Personal Portfolio Webpage -- I'm a Newbie

I’m working on passing the Personal Portfolio Webpage and I’m just doing the very basic to pass each test.

I’m failing User Story #4: The projects section should contain at least one element with a class of project-tile to hold a project.

Here’s my HTML:

<section id="projects" class="project-tile"></section>

What doesn’t my code pass user story #4? Thanks.

Nevermind. Think I got it:

<section id="projects"> 
  <p class="project-tile"></p>
</section>

“Contains” must mean that there needs to be an element within another element. Sometimes writing the question out helps me figure out the answer.

Thank you.

@Macro You got the concept! User Story #4 is asking for the projects section to contain another element with the class set to “project-tile”. However, I would not use p class to do so. Can you link you Code Pen?

As @Macro as said try the above short code and make sure u input some sort of text in between the P element

Hi Nikki! Thanks for your response.

Here’s the link: https://codepen.io/MacroFrito/pen/VwaJzKv

What are your thoughts?

Hi! I’m failing user story #10:

The height of the welcome section should be equal to the height of the viewport.

I updated the #welcome-section to a vh of 100:

#welcome-section{
  padding: 10vh;
  height: 100vh;
}

but am still failing. What am I not understanding? Here’s the link to the project:

https://codepen.io/MacroFrito/pen/VwaJzKv

Thank you!

Hi! Maybe removing the 10vh padding from the welcome section?

Thank you! You’re right!

1 Like

So, here’s my finished portfolio that passed all 12 tests:

Why aren’t there more CSS tests to help challenge our style knowledge? How does one go from passing the tests to making the webpage look good? Open to any suggestions. Thank you.

1 Like

I honestly don’t know for sure how to help you. I had the help of a friend who led me through styling and making my page look good.