Please review my portfolio?

Hi everyone, I have been really struggling with getting developer job. I’ve posted to reddit and honestly anywhere I can get some feedback. I don’t understand what I am doing incorrectly. I have applied to over 120 places, I’ve gotten a few calls back from recruiters who ask if I have a bachelors degree, I tell them I only have an associates degree in IT and it goes nowhere from there. I’ve been to a few meetups, I connect with people I meet from there on linkedIn and that’s about it. I tried to work with my career services department (who only offers resume prep assistance). Guys, I’m really getting discouraged and don’t know where to go from here. Any feedback is appreciated.

Portfolio: https://tobiascscott.com/
Github: https://github.com/Tobias2023
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/tobias-scott-b3572751/#

Thanks for your time!

1 Like

Your designs need to be professional looking and that will increase your chances of standing out to recruiters. That simple log in page and coin game will not really help get you a job and I would ax those. Keep the blog but improve the design and add more posts about JavaScript and html and css to showcase your knowledge on the subject. Your portfolio has a decent design, but your projects don’t. Build real-world websites. A restaurant, real-estate, e-commerce. Look for design inspiration. Recruiters literally don’t spend much time at all looking at sites, so make sure to stand out especially without a 4-year degree. Competition is stiff out here. Good luck, keep coding

3 Likes