Portfolio Project Bootstrap 3 or 4? HELP NEEDED!

Portfolio Project Bootstrap 3 or 4? HELP NEEDED!

Hello everyone, Im fairly new to codecamp. I started about a week ago and got all the way to my portfolio page. After being assigned the project, I began to reserch others projects and found them to be very helpfull. What I noticed was 99% of the projects ive found were done in bootstrap 3 however bootstrap 4 is out now. I decided to begin my project in 4 because it is the newest and I want to be up to date. The problem is so much has chnaged in 4 that when im learning from others in 3 the code does not work. What should I do? should I just restart with bootstrap 3 and make a page?

A couple of us over in the gitter help noticed this and put this together:

I understand how to import the old bootstrap but my question is if I should use 3 or 4? should I struggle through and figure out 4 or do 3 which is easier to me since I learned it in past coding

I am in the very beginning as you are, and I think we should learn bootstrap 4, it is vert well documented even though it might seem complicated at first, I was able to put what I want to work. It applies for every technology out there as well we should always try to learn and use the lastest version of them.

I was under the impression bootstrap 4 was still in Alpha? I’ve been using 3.3.7 for all my development.

agreed, that why I began in 4 to challenge my self and be up to date. Could you post a link to your project. Id love to study it

it is still in alpha I think it released for firefox but no other browser, regardless it is coming and will be the new version soon enough.

True, but I do like creating projects the work…

very true, now im confused again ughh lol

I dont have the project I use bootstrap 4 on code pen unfortunately…

You should learn Bootstrap 3 and that way if you have to update legacy code later on, you’ll know it

it’s really up to you brutha… check out the differences and make your own decisions