Portfolio Website - Am I hireable?

Hello,

I am at my 4 months mark since I started coding and wanted to get honest feedback on the portfolio that I have built to get some reality check.

The following is my website and feel free to comment or critique in every angle possible.

https://hwangs12.github.io/welcome/

Thank you,

3 Likes

Hi @hwangs12 !

I moved your post over to the #career section since you wanted to ask if you were hirable.

I think you have done a lot of work so far in a short amount of time.
You should be proud of that. :grinning:

I am also building a portfolio for jobs and I will tell you what a mentor told me .

She said, ā€œA lot of portfolios look the same. Your job is to stand out.ā€

I was really grateful for that advice :grinning:

I think building class projects is a good first step when you are first learning.
But when you are thinking about jobs, you can increase your chances of standing out from the crowd if your portfolio has some unique projects that everyone hasnā€™t seen before.

Take those skills you learned in those youtube and udemy projects and build something different.

Keep learning and building! :grinning:

Sidenote: I was curious what the difference between the bugs and projects category was. Arenā€™t they all considered projects? :grinning:

2 Likes

I would say itā€™s fairly unlikely to get hired with only 4 months of experience.

I would suggest for hiring purposes you should have at least one full-stack app with all the bells and whistles (Backend, Auth, client-side routing, using a framework like React, TypeScript for extra brownie points, etc.) on your portfolio. It would also be nice to see some more commits to repos other than your own (to show more Git/GitHub workflow knowledge).