Pressured of what to learn

I actually have a lot to say but I’ll start with this as I am new here :slight_smile: So, I’ve been learning programming since 2015 (w/ game development in Unity) and never thought of stopping until I stepped in college (and adulthood if you can consider that). I really want to be a game developer, I really really do. Got some small games made, even participated in a game jam for it! But thinking that after college I would need to get a job, I’m really confused upon what to do anymore. I figured that I would need to go study software development since it’s the only jobs here near my place but there’s this ‘feeling’ that I don’t really wanna do it and just continue game development. But the thing about my game development experience is, I feel like I’m still lacking a whole lot. It sucks really. I need a couple of advice to know what I can do. I know I might have a similar question here but why not give it a shot.

if you want to do game development but you feel you are lacking… have you ever thought about a computer science course online? that would still keep you on the same path but give you a deeper understanding of things

there is even a “Professional Certificate in Computer Science for Game Development” from Harvard!

(you can see which courses are inside the certificate, and you can do the courses for free - you need to pay only if you want the verified certificate to add to your portfolio, learning is free)

1 Like

From a gamer to the next. :3

I started studying game development at a very young age and study in college about it a decade ago. I did it because I really like video games, even went to video game development school to learn about art, programming, music, production, etc. After completing the program I am left with more question than ability to build a game. :rofl: