Reaching Out To Employer?

Some back story - I’ve been applying to jobs for about 3 months now. I’ve had 2 in person interviews and 3 phone interviews. Nothing has really come to fruition as of yet. I have some freelance gigs under my belt and a “normal 9-5” that has kept me and my family in good standing financially thus far.

A week ago I had an interview with a local company and even though I didn’t check all of the boxes (they had Ruby/C/.NET as ‘requirements’ on their job posting) I felt like the interview went very well.

The interviewer and I really meshed well, we were telling jokes, we were talking about the job as a whole and he seemed to really like my answers. He kept using phrases like “when you work here” and “when you start you’ll be over there” and he said my resume (particularly my cover letter) stood out to him and that’s why he asked me in.

He said “you’ll be our front end guy” and made mention of training me for back end coding as well “when I start” but it has been over a week and I haven’t heard anything yet.

I sent an e-mail 2 days after thanking them for the opportunity to interview and telling them what a great experience it was.

My question is do you all think I should reach out and ask what the status of the job is? Is it too soon? Will I seem pushy if I reach out first? Should I just wait?

Any help/suggestions are greatly appreciated :smiley:

1 Like

If you don’t want to seem to be interested only to the job position… did you talk about something personal, so you can ask about how a project of them is going or inquire about a relative health you talked about or update them on a project of yours you talked about? Have you learned something new, have you improved greatly a project? Talk about that. It can be anything
And you can ask how long is the process after an interview usually like an afterthought, a post scriptum

1 Like