Seeking advice for self taught beginner

Hello everyone! My name is Kart, 35. I have a BS in Chemistry and a minor in mathematics. I currently have a career in managing a chemical plant. I have always been attracted to data analysis and process improvement side of running a chemical plant. I also have strong attraction towards technology and it’s implementation towards business development.

Away from my main career, I also run a small business of building high-end PCs and sell them locally, which has taught me a lot about trouble shooting on hardware and software end. I started thinking strictly about programming and coding as a second career as I feel like I do have an aptitude for learning something new and the way tech industry is proliferating, it will also be a safer career option in future.

So, now I have given you my back ground. I wanted to ask what would be the best pathway for me? I am interested in front end development and eventually full-stacked developer (might require higher education). Initially, I will focus on self teaching for first 6 months to make myself familiar with basics of app or web development. I also plan to attend boot camp to acquire further knowledge and for networking. I want to focus on Javascript and later on Python and my research has shown that it’s easy to transition into from Java to Python.

I would appreciate any feedback and thank you for responding.

Kart P.

Hi @Chemshock!

Welcome to the forum!

Going through the FCC curriculum is a good start. It teaches the MERN stack and Python. But just doing FCC alone will not be enough. You will need to supplement it with other resources. You will also need to build projects outside of a class for your portofolio.

If getting a cs degree is in the cards for you there are definite advantages to having one. It will definitely help with getting your foot in the door for interviews. Also you will have access to college internships which will help with job applications.