Seeking Advice on Career Progression as a Software Developer with Limited Coding Experience

I have a degree in Information Systems, but I didn’t learn much coding during my studies. Surprisingly, I got an internship as a software developer before finishing my degree. I lost that job, but I found another one in Software Engineering, where I currently work. The interview for this job was too easy and didn’t ask me basic software engineering questions, only behavioral ones. This experience made me lazy and made me take my work for granted. Now I feel stuck and don’t know what to do. I struggle with writing basic code, and for the past few years, I haven’t done any personal coding projects or gone to any job interviews. I’m scared of interviews now because I feel like I’m not good enough to be a mid-level or senior developer. Despite having six years of experience on paper, my skill level remains at a beginner level. I still want to work in this field because I like solving problems. But if I lose my current job just in case, it will be difficult to find a senior or mid-level position because I am currently stuck at a beginner level and lack any experience in whiteboard interviews. What should I do?

1 Like

Welcome to the forums!

Here’s the good news: you have six years of experience on paper which is GREAT for job searching and it sounds like your workload is not too high. That means you have plenty of time to develop portfolio projects and work on your problem-solving skills. When you get them, you’ll be very far ahead of everybody else who is “starting” to code just by virtue of your job title.

Have you gone through the freeCodeCamp curriculum? What is your current work like- just to get a feel for your skill level?

2 Likes

You somewhat answered yourself here.

Work on some personal projects, and do “basic code”.