Serious career advice

i’m 40 years old. i have a BS degree in electrical engineering. well i never landed a career in the field because i just didnt have the confidence i was ever good enough after graduation. and i hided persuing my degree taking care of the elderly parents. my parents made sure i was wellfed and sheltered as i was taking care of them . so sad to admit i took advantage of that. but anyways i need to get back on my feet and shoot for a second chance in life. i know my engineering degree is over 15 years old so its probably to obsolete when it comes to interviewers. so i thought of i learned programming it can revive my engineering degree. and having a bs degree with increase my chances of landing a software engineering job in the future if i keep perssistant at fcc. i realize late in life that i should of went computer engineering instead. because after completing my html and css cert and now beginning on javascript, i really enjoy the software and programming much better. and honetlhy its much easier to obrain the resources to become a good programmmer as oppose to a hardware designer because you always need an acess to a lab since the instruments for testing and fabricating hardwear is pretty expensive. but for software all you really need is a working computer a few books and a fcc account.

so my thought is to keep working on the fcc certs in the meantime and then try to find a software developer job and in the future consider going back to school for a master s in cimputer engineering. or if i find i want to stick to be a programmer all my life. ill keep at learning fcc and furter my studying to keep up to date in the field. i juST want to know if im doing the right thing. or is this a waste and should try something else ?

3 Likes

Dude I have just got my first junior front end developer job and am 43, you can do it.

8 Likes

I will highly recommend to build projects.