Sharing my struggle of starting frontend mentor

I started using frontend mentor to make projects and improve my HTML+CSS skills after the guidance of wonderful people like @vikramvi and @stephenmutheu

NOTE:

• I like to ask questions like an absolute beginner (even though I am a professional software engineer) as it helps me rediscover ways I never knew before.
  • I do feel really silly for the above (very sorry for any inconvenience I caused anyone)
  • The love and support of this community inspite of all this has completely blown me away and I love it.

I joined the discord server and found the challenge-roadmap section so I started with the QR code project and downloaded the file

Then I went through the README.md which is where I am supposed to start but was a bit overwhelmed.

there are 2 major problems i faced:

• As a beginner we are supposed to put the code on GitHub
  • and we should figure out how to write the HTML and CSS code locally (but I act like I only knew how to use the freeCodeCamp online editor)

I did make sure to ask for help on discord about these 2 points and got great guidance for point 1 but a little less for or point 2.

Since the explicit instructions were a bit incomplete for point 2, I had to to google out “how to use visual studio code” and later FINALLY able to code

It was a real struggle to make a folder, organise the files, know how to use VS Code with the LiveServer extension, try to see a preview etc etc

All this could have been avoided if I just watched a freeCodeCamp VIDEO on writing html locally (my bad)

In the end I managed to code the project in a day at the expense of my health sitting all day long but I will now put the code and other files on GitHub.

here’s the link to the code

1 Like
  • Don’t worry, we all have went through the learning curve , difficulties as you’re facing
  • It’s like a hockey stick graph, pretty slow for first few months and then northward graph.