Should I continue working on Algorithm problems as my main mode of learning (for now)?

I’m curious about possibly pursuing a career in web/software development so I started learning HTML/CSS and Javascript about 4 months ago. I’ve completed a couple HTML/CSS and Javascript courses online via Udemy and freeCodeCamp and have completed a couple of the basic Javascript web-apps (to-do list, note-taker, hangman, etc.). Out of the 3 languages, Javascript has been the most enjoyable and challenging and so I’ve devoted most of my time to learning and practicing just Javascript. Up until recently I would divide my study hours learning theory, reading documentation and also following along with video tutorials to create some basic projects. However, the past couple weeks I’ve devoted all my time to solving algorithm problems on CodeWars and I’ve found myself improving drastically thru practice. The time seems to fly by and I learn way better by doing as opposed to reading and watching.

I plan on dedicating all my study time to practicing solving these algorithm problems until I can consider myself a bit more than just a novice. Then go back and revisit HTML and CSS and practice bringing it all together. I was just wondering what people thought about this study-plan and how proficient at Javascript I need to be before I can really call myself a Front-end Developer? Are there other things I should be prioritizing right now? Feel free to share some of your study methods! I’m looking forward to some feedback!

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @iamcharliekim,

Algorithms are crucial, as whiteboarding is all about algorithms. Most in person interviews will ask you to solve a problem on the whiteboard.

Id suggest you checkout hackerrank as well, as it seems like its the popular option for companies to look at to make sure you know your stuff.