Some insight help please

I’ve been reading a lot of FCC learn to code articles on Medium lately. I realize that some are a couple of years old and I always check the comments sections, but here’s what confuses me. I see on the same article (often with thousands of “claps,” people praising the tutorial as great and easy to follow, while also many point out specific errors they are getting. Often there are no responses from the authors, and in many cases none of the questions are resolved.

I’m assuming that not all of the comments are from total newbies. I’ve found that in some rare cases even complex tutorials are so well written that with persistence and some research I am able to reproduce a working sample of the code.

I’m by no means well versed in React, but it would help to have some simple things laid out. I find that none of the Github source code works “out of the box.” If you fork and clone the code repository, open it on Github Desktop and from there into Visual Code, it will never work with Live Server. That makes sense though since I’d expect to have to run either yarn start or npm start from the app directory.

I’d expect that a repository bootstrapped with create-react-app would be ready to run. It never is. Am I confused? I have React, npm, and any other dependencies clearly listed globally installed (maybe not recommended as I go on in development). If I run yarn start on code that clearly said it used that, it always throws errors. The same with npm start.

I’ve found that I have to install npm (or yarn) again in the created React app directory, run audit fix and even then still won’t work. I’ve almost always had to add a .env file with SKIP_PREFLIGHT_CHECK=true to get past that.

If these are standard “precautions” when trying to follow a tutorial, why don’t authors clearly say that?