Starting from scratch

So i have been an IT recruitment consultant for over 4 years now and after putting some thought into i have decided to set aside every second of my spare time to learn how to develop and script in multiple different languages (forgive me if i am not using the right terms)

I am literally starting from scratch, i know the name of multiple coding languages and just about know what each are for although that is about how far my knowledge stretches too.

I have came to FreeCodeCamp as i am determined, starting now that i want to become a developer and eventually get myself a development job, i will hopefully document my journey over the next few months/years and mention everyone/everything that has helped me so that maybe some others can do the same as me after.

I know this is all very extreme (some might say so) although i am hoping some of you will agree it is possible.

My first question… How/what is the best way for me to practice while doing the challenges, i am on level 35-40 right now and although i am beginning to learn about CSS i think if i was given a task to build something from scratch again i would forget the order of some of the HTML, is there anyway i should be practising as i go and how often ie how many challenges should i complete before i take a step back and revise them.

All help and comments will be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to the freeCodeCamp forum. I just thought I would give you a few a quick thoughts:

I hardly ever revise anything I learn- it is just not the way I learn and there is way too much to try and remember. I think you are better knowing how/where to look stuff up than remembering every detail.

I learn most from doing projects, so I try to do as many projects as possible. It gives you something to really get into and you will have something to show at the end of it.