Testing Vs. Development As A Career

Hi everyone,
So a little a bit of background about me: I started learning web development in January 2018 through Free Code Camp and I thought it was pretty fun. I breezed through the HTML and CSS section of the site and found the JavaScript Data Structures and Algorithms section to be quite challenging and a bit of a steep learning curve. Nonetheless, through attending various Meetups, using a wide variety of learning tools, and asking a lot of questions, I was eventually able to earn their certification. I’m currently doing projects with Front End Libraries like React and Sass and I’m really enjoying it!

Since August 2018, I’ve been working as a Software Development in Test Intern at a pretty big company and that internship will soon be ending in January. Initially, I was very excited about it and eager to work in the software development industry, but as time went on, I found things to be sometimes overwhelming, sometimes tedious and I was generally just bored by the work. It seems like there aren’t many opportunities to do anything creative or to build anything that is very interesting.

So my question is, is this what being a developer is really like? I have a strong interest in front-end development, but this internship has almost made me apathetic towards the industry. Thoughts?

2 Likes

Testing is incredibly important but also can be very tedious. That’s why bigger companies have QA and testing team dedicated to them, because sometimes it is just not feasible or efficient to have developers do both.