The instructions for the Twitch project maybe need to be updated

Item # 7: "Hint: The relevant documentation about this API call is here: https://dev.twitch.tv/docs/v5/reference/streams/#get-stream-by-user."

I’m going through the process right now and the v5 API is deprecated. From their documentation: “V5 is deprecated as of 8/31/17 and will be removed entirely on 12/31/18 (in favor of the new Twitch API, mentioned above).”

I know Dec 2018 is quite a ways still, but we are past Aug 2017 and they do recommend to start using their new API which is provided.

Also, you do now have to register an app in order to get a client ID, that may already be something people have figured out. I’m just getting started, so forgive me if I’m telling you things you already know. I thought you might want to know about the new API. There is no longer access to an ID through the “connections” tab in the normal user settings - you have to go ahead and sign up for a dev profile, but it’s easy and your regular user login gives you access.

I believe that fcc has a new api for students to use that does not require all this key and technicalities (basically a simplified api for the twitch api). Check out these new instructions from the beta version (if you can’t find this challenge in the beta version, look under coding interview take-home projects at the bottom).

freeCodeCamp wiki info and example call
relevant twitch documentation

Thank you!! Those links at the bottom were exactly what I needed - I think - I am pretty sure I’ve already read the entire Twitch dev documentation beginning to end, and I even got a successful api started with valid request / response returning json data but using a Twitch-issued client ID, which (now) I understand can’t be used for the assignment.