There was a point in the JS curriculum I got left behind

Hey all, I’ve been off and on studying JavaScript for a year or so. I started learning here and everything was gravy until around RegEx. Then I started not understanding what I needed to do and soon had no chance of figuring things out without looking at the solution. From what I’ve read around, I’m not the only one who starts losing traction around that point.

The first time I realized I was lost, I decided to rebuild my foundation… I went through all of the MDN curriculum through JS and started up MIT60001 OCW.

I return to JS here periodically to make sure I don’t forget what little I know about syntax/semantics, but I still always have trouble with the challenges. I am in algorithms right now, and while I know what needs to happen conceptually, I simply can’t get the syntax and objects down in JS.

Any tips?

While I can comfortably code little projects in Python, JS still thoroughly stumps me. My next step is to just re-do every JS lesson here and grind it out until I understand, unless you JS folks have a secret trick you’re keeping from the rest of us.

Thanks!

What concepts are you having trouble with? Can you give some examples? RegEx doesn’t surprise me as it wasn’t really designed for readability. What else is stumping you? If you can be a bit more specific, I’m sure we can help you through it.

1 Like

Thank you for the helpful offer! It’s nothing in particular right now–nothing and everything anyway haha. If I recall correctly, it’s usually dot notation and arguments–arguments confuse the heck out of me!

This one with the arguments arr and elem, for instance:

function quickCheck(arr, elem) {
  if (arr.indexOf(elem) >= 0) {
    return true;
  }
  return false;
}
console.log(quickCheck(["squash", "onions", "shallots"], "mushrooms"));

What lesson teaches you about what position 1 means within the parentheses, what position two stands for, how do I know what position n stands for?