This week I accepted my first full time developer job

Posts like this really encouraged me in the past year, so I want to add my own.
TL;DR I started learning to program a little over a year ago. I have a MA in a complete different field and wanted to switch careers. After internship, 32 job applications, 9 phone interviews, and 4 in person interviews I just accepted my first time position as a developer.
I can’t thank both reddit and freecodecamp enough for the past year. I started a bit over a year ago on this journey of learning, and fell in love with it. I started with codeacademy, but ended up switching because while it was cool to learn some concepts, I wasn’t actually learning how to use a text editor or other real tools, or wasn’t learning how projects fit together. On March 31, 2016 I started down the freecodecamp route. I trudged along for around 9 months until I approached a startup asking for an internship. Graciously the accepted and put me to work for 5 months. I still worked full time, and would work early in the am before work and in the pm after work. I averaged about 25 hours a week with them. It sucked, but I’ve so grateful for that time. There are so many things that I have no idea how I would have learned had it not been for our tech lead taking the time and walking me through them.
During the last month of my internship I started applying for jobs. I shot out 32 applications, got 9 phone interviews, and 4 in person. I honestly don’t get how hiring goes in this field as some of the ones I thought I bombed they asked me back and some that I thought I did great at I never heard back from them. Earlier this week I accepted an offer as a full time web developer. After a lot of struggle, early mornings and late nights, I’m so excited for this. I’m really excited, but equally nervous to start.

10 Likes