Very new to code, very motivated, but very confused

Hello out there,

I am very new to coding, and I am loving it, but I have had a few hiccups with application. I completed the first course of CodeAcademy, but then found freecodecamp and liked the teaching methods much better. I feel like freecodecamp, while it gave examples in the challenges, didn’t give quite as much of a crutch. I felt like you could practically copy and paste the code in CodeAcademys challenges to get through it, but freecodecamp would at least switch a few things up so you really had to pay attention to the instructions.

Long story long I made it to the first project building challenge in freecodecamp (the tribute webpage), and while I did complete it, I feel like there are major holes in my code. I also misunderstood the challenge a bit so it is practically a carbon copy of the example site.

I don’t want to complete these challenges just to get through them. I want to really retain the knowledge and understand what I am doing.

I guess I am not even really sure what I am asking here, but I felt like there was a few concepts I completely missed when building my first project. I suppose I am wondering if anyone else felt the same and what they did to gain the knowledge before moving on.

Any help for a newb would be greatly appreciated!

3 Likes

Hey, this is so normal, and that’s why i love free code camp. I am very new to code as well, started 2 week ago.

Here i noticed that we don’t really have answers to the projects, we learn some basics first and then we need to create something that, usually, will require more knowledge.

I finished my tribute page this last week and the page looked like that: https://codepen.io/HeyCenturies/pen/LyxoxB. It sucks, it’s awful, but that was my first project.