What is right to do here?

Hello everyone! I’m a self taught front-end dev, started my journey about 1 year and a half ago right here on FCC, and recently I got involved in my first real world project. Some very experienced programmer had a lot of projects and he decided to let me work for him on one of them, he was dealing with the client, I only dealt with the coding. I managed to do what I was asked but, because I am a beginner, it took me like 10 days and, I think, it was a 3 days job for a more experienced programmer. Because it took this long and for some other smaller reasons, the client decided to not continue with us anymore and not pay us. My collaborator, the more experienced programmer, told me he will still pay me for my work from his own money and that he liked my attitude and he want to continue working with me. Now my question is: should I accept money from him for this project? Given the fact that he didn’t get anything from it ? I don’t know what the morals are in this field because this is my first gig. Anyone else was in a similar situation? What would you do ?

2 Likes

Hello and welcome to the freeCodeCamp community~!

I think the answer to this situation is really entirely up to you. If you aren’t comfortable with accepting the payment from him, you could ask for a referral or LinkedIn recommendation instead (that way he can reward you for your effort still).

It sounds like you’ve found someone great to work with, and if you are in a position where you can afford to decline payment here you have a lot of potential to negotiate something else (mentorship, opportunity to work with him on future projects, etc.).

Do I think there is anything inherently wrong with accepting the offered payment? No. You were contracted to do the work, you did the work, you are within your right to get paid for that work.

5 Likes