What is the best editor for javascript?

I am a beginner to javascript. All of my books are saying that any text editor is supported but doesn’t mention which one is the best? So, I came here to get the suggestions from you legends!!

I like to use Atom with script package.

Hi :slight_smile:

I personally use Visual Studio Code.
But there are other great ones like Atom, WebStorm (that one is not free) or Sublime Text.

In my opinion, if you want to have a quick setup and an easy-to-use editor, you should try either Visual Studio Code or Atom (both are free).

You won’t find a particular answer to your question. Ten people will give you ten different answers. It’s mostly an opinion-based question. You should have asked what IDE/Text Editor you like to use.

I like both Sublime Text 3 and Atom (with packages). What I don’t like about Atom is that it takes ages to load whereas ST3 loads super quickly, but if you use a SSD, you may not be bothered.

I also like all Jetbrains products, and Web Storm is one of their products.

Download a few IDEs/TE and test them out yourself. Whatever you find best, use it.

There’s a ton of free editors out there. Just try them all until you find one that you like.

But Imma just leave this one here… :slight_smile:

I like VSCode and Sublime.

Sublime isn’t free, but the trial version doesn’t expire so it sort of is?

(of course if you like it and find it’s the editor for you it would be nice to pay for it.)

Its definitely up to personal preference… Im still trying them out to see which one I feel most comfortable with… started off with NetBeans which I liked a lot…just that it took forever to load and used up a lot of resource, so I moved on to trying Sublime which Im using now and I like it even better. It is free, just have to deal with a nag screen every so often.