What program do I need to focus on as a beginner?

Hi guys,

I’m a Math teacher and I just wanna try to study programming to be able to apply as Data Scientist. Can you please give me more specific idea based on your experience as a Data Scientist? Where and how should I start when entering this new field or career?

What program do I need to focus on as a beginner?

I’m willing to accept any kind of help, advice, or guidance as a beginner. Thank you.

Hello. Happy to hear your motivation.
The Data Scientist is a complex path, and there are many fields like, mathematics, statistics, CC, programming and finance for give some examples.
Having said that. Assuming that you have some Quantitative background. You can begin by learning Python or R. As a programing language (however,in the middle term,I encourage you to learn both.) Regarding the theoretical knowledge, you will need an introduction to Machine Learning. For a fun introduction, I recommend Intro to ML lectures from Caltech, in YouTube, old but gold. Then you can move to many other material.
By the moment, get focused in learning python (pandas, numpy, matplotlib, scipy, seaborn) and then move into Scikit-learn and Tensorflow (at least.)
When you have the coding ability and the theoretical knowledge. You can implement some model, while at the same time, enhance yourself with more tools, like some Knowledge of cloud(AWS, Azure or Google cloud) and of Github.
Finally, focus your sector, eg. Medicine, Finance, NLP and so on.
Hope it helps.

1 Like

Note, data science is not the same thing as machine learning.

I would start by learning how do statistics on data sets with Python. To do that, I would start by learning the basics of Python.

2 Likes

Thanks for the replies. My uncle told me something that it was usually related to AI. Do I need to attend extra classes to be informed in that kind of field or should I focus more on statistical research and analyzing different set of data with Python?

1 Like