What to build, a webapp or an application?

I am totally new to programming, not sure what to learn first? I work for a non-profit organization and we need a custom system to track our clients, the county they live in, services provided, the program that provided the service, how many times in the current month they were served by each program. Also a way to record additional notes regarding the service provided, whether it was a new device or transportation passes and would like these to be dated and saved to the clients file chronologically. We also would like to be able to pull certain info each month for a monthly report to track numbers of those served. Any advice, suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks in advance

Great! There’s a lot to learn!

This is a rather complex list of requirements, for what I assume to be an application that will evolve over time. I also assume this description is missing more specifics that are just not listed, so the requirements are rather detailed.

So there is a gap between where you are (new to programming) and where you need to go (the app requirements).

Figuring out the “bridge” between those two points is the sort of path you want to take, then you must actually “walk” that bridge. This means you’d need to learn what you need to know, and then go out and learn those things so you can build this app.

Furthermore, you may get partway through your learning and realize your going the wrong way!. Maybe the app’s requirements are different than you originally thought, or new ones come through requiring you to change what you already know, or you realize your doing something wrong! Because of this its possible the entire process may take longer than expected, as its hard to estimate what you don’t know you don’t know.

So what to do then?