When do I know I'm not a beginner anymore in JS (or any other programming language)?

What r the major difference between beginner and intermediate programmers

Just off the top of my head, I’d say you are intermediate when you’ve touched on all the basic topics of the language. You may not know everything about it, but you are at least familiar with what is there. You can solidly do basic programs and have some familiarity with the next level of coding.

That’s how I see it. Coming up with a list specific to JS would be interesting…

1 Like

I guess, in my humble opinion, I would think of an intermediate JS dev to be one that…

• Has a basic knowledge of the JS language, up to and including ES6 and into ESNext. They don’t have mastery, but they don’t freak out when they see destructuring. They may not be comfortable with generator functions but, they have heard of them and have a vague idea what they do.
  • A basic understanding of scope and familiarity with the idea of closures.
  • Understands callbacks, Promises, and async/await.
  • They understand the basics of paradigms like OOP and FP and how they apply or don’t apply to JS.
  • They feel comfortable with basic algorithm problems.

I don’t know, those are just my thoughts. This is very subjective. I’m sure others with have different thoughts.

3 Likes

I should also say being comfortable with all the basic prototype methods.

If I think of any skill I have mastered, I can’t really pinpoint a moment where I went from “beginner” to “intermediate” or “expert”. How confident do you feel? When you think of your skills so far do you think something like “I’m still learning the basics” or something like “I know how to do the basics, but I need practice”?

Basically… I wouldn’t worry about labeling your skill level too much. Whatever feels right.

2 Likes