Where to start and should I bother?

I’m so lost where to start learning to code. I want to see if I can do something with this and change my life for the better. I currently work as a caregiver for family. It’s a stressful job but not rewarding and I feel a bit trapped. I was never good at schooling, but there were a few factors that contributed to this. My home life was awful, I was bullied, I would not go to school because of it. I found out I have sleep apnea last year & so now I’m treating it. I’m receiving help for my mental health and hopefully soon will start therapy. So I don’t know how much math you need for this, what other subjects are needed. What to learn first and if anyone can recommend a laptop to get. I only have a phone atm and it’s hard learning on a little screen. Any words of encouragement or advice would be appreciated.

1 Like

Hi @koola !

Welcome to the forum!

freeCodeCamp teaches web development and is currently building out a data science curriculum.

If you are interested in pursuing a career in web dev, then start here

You will start by learning HTML and CSS by building projects. You don’t need any prior coding experience to start learning.

Then you will move onto JavaScript starting with this course

If you are interested in web development, then you don’t need much math to be successful in it. If you are interested in other fields of programming, then it will depend on the amount of math required.

Right now, I would suggest getting the most basic and cheapest functioning computer you can afford.
You don’t need fancy tech to get started learning.
Later on, you could worry about upgrading your gear, but for right now just get something that works and is stable.
The freeCodeCamp curriculum is designed to be done in the browser. So you are not required to download a whole bunch of stuff to start learning how to code.

Mental health is really important and working with a therapist will be a really beneficial.