Why MongoDB and not SQL databases?

Out of curiosity, why is MongoDB and Mongoose taught in the FreeCodeCamp curriculum, instead of SQL databases like PostgreSQL?

Long story short: now that I’m looking for a job as a web developer, it seems like every business in Spain wants you to know MySQL or any other SQL-based solution. So I started learning about SQL and I find it easier and more enjoyable to use.

Is there any benefit of MongoDB that makes it preferable in some situations?

2 Likes

Hello there,

I cannot speak much for why not, other than: freeCodeCamp teaches everything (to an extent) that it uses. If you have a look at the codebase, ~90% of it involves the tools taught in the curriculum.

So, seeing as MongoDB is used, it is taught, and seeing as it is taught, and there are resource constraints preventing an endless curriculum, SQL-based database solutions are not taught.

I will leave this for someone else to answer.

Do remember, you can find multiple multi-hour tutorials on the freeCodeCamp YouTube channel on SQL.

Hope this helps

4 Likes

Thanks @Sky020 ! In truth, the course materials were very well done and I enjoyed discovering the applications of tools like MongoDB. And although so far I find SQL easier… it’s just my subjective experience.

1 Like

Well, it has to each something. And NoSQL is common to pair with Node (the MEAN and the MERN stack). Perhaps it is because NoSQL is essentially storing JS objects so it is a little easier to swallow at first.

I assume that at some point FCC will teach SQL. But FCC is a non-profit, relying on a lot of volunteer work so these things take time.

As to when to use which, both have strengths and weaknesses. There are plenty of discussions, like here.

But I’m in the same boat as you. I am pretty handy with NoSQL but want to learn SQL. I have a vacation week coming up where I plan to do a deep dive into SQL, using the myriad of resources available on the internet.