When Does It Start To Make Sence?

I wanted to title the subject: “When Does It Start To Click”, but I didn’t want to mislead people, lol.

Hello,

Background:
I am fairly new to coding, I took a Python class 10 years ago and I hated it, but other than that and some program specific Macro coding (that I also didn’t understand at the time or like, lol, and that was about 15 years ago) I really haven’t done anything that involved coding .

Experiences:
I am currently learning to code from “freecodecamp.org” and I am currently in the JavaScript portion (It has been almost 2 months since I started). Prior to this website I tried some free app’s on my phone to try an learn, but writing code on a phone was difficult.

My experience with “freecodecamp” so far has been good. The lessons are easy to follow and there seems to be help in many different varieties (one of them I am writing on now).

The Main Point Of This Post:
I am doing well in the individual sessions and challenges, but I am having some trouble remembering things from a few categories back from HTML & CSS.

My question is: How long did it take you where everything started to click and you were able to put the pieces of the puzzle together without looking at your notes every 30 minutes? I know learning something new takes time, and that no one is perfect in learning something for the first time, but how long did it take before you were confident in your own abilities in coding?

P.S.
I asked one of my friends this question and he showed me this meme

1 Like

What you’re describing sounds less like “making sense” and more like “memorisation”.

You won’t be able to, and shouldn’t focus on, memorising all of the different commands and syntax. Focus instead on understanding the concepts - HOW does the code work? WHY does the code work?

The professional developers in my social circle ALL have to research things. But they are able to do so because they know the concepts.

10 Likes

Hello there @Hello_Forum,