Advancing to Bootstrap, but feeling lost after HTML5 and CSS

Hi,
I have a question, and I’m hoping someone can help me with it. I just finished the HTML5 and CSS portion of the front end developer certification last night. I noticed that Bootstrap is the next lesson/phase of the training. My concern is that I was able to progress through the training, but I don’t feel ready to move right into Bootstrap. Is this normal? If I move on, will I build on what was taught to me or should I just start over with HTML5 and CSS and then move on? I need some direction before I move forward, as these lessons are taking me longer than expected. Also, for anyone who has completed the full certification, how long did it take you, and how proficient are you feeling? I have no previous experience or background with code. I do enjoy playing around with WIX though. Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

The FCC challenges for CSS are not enough. Think of them as just appetizers. Personally, I think you need more than what was just taught during the challenges. Either look at books, online courses, or reference sites to learn more about CSS. – and most importantly, build some html/css projects. That’s the only way you can master CSS.

https://www.w3schools.com/css/

Now, Bootstrap is great. But a lot of what Bootstrap does may seem like voodoo magic if you don’t know the basics/fundamentals of CSS. Then you’ll run into some problems when you get unexpected results using Bootstrap + your custom CSS styles… and you’ll wonder why your font color isn’t working or something like that.

So yes, learn Bootstrap, but make sure you have a good understanding of basic CSS first.

1 Like

@owel Thank you!

I agree, the challenges do not seem sufficient enough for me to feel prepared to take on the next assignments. I wan’t to understand what I’m doing, not just complete a course. Even if it takes forever, and it has been lol.