Am I job ready?

I’ve been teaching myself web development for quite a while now, and I can say that I am pretty comfortable with the basic concepts enough that I can learn the basics of a framework fairly quickly (in my opinion).

However, I have no real, professional experience at all as a web dev, and all the job postings I’ve seen have requirements that just seem unfeasible for me to fulfill or learn myself without doing actual projects. Even internships have ridiculous requirements to meet. So I’d actually like some feedback to see if I could start applying to get internships and learn further:

Here is my portfolio..

I of course have a good understanding of HTML, CSS, and Javascript. I’ve built silly applications with React and Vue. I’ve also used pre-processors like Sass and included it in the build step of a project (maybe extended bootstrap). For backend, I guess I have a pretty good grasp of the main concepts, and I’ve built things with ExpressJS and Laravel.

I just don’t know what it takes to survive or even start as an intern. I’ve seen concepts in web development that I don’t even know how to search Google for, and I feel pretty inept. I have too many questions I can’t answer myself.

Thanks.

2 Likes

I cannot answer if you are job ready. But I noticed a few thing:

1. You seem to manage most parts of web development fairly well.
  2. You seem to be independent and communicative.
  3. Your own site rates way above average on web.dev
  4. You seem to have passed the I-can-do-everything-level. To know you own limits is a great foundation.

Overall I should say you are on the right track :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I can’t give you an answer as to whether you’re employable or not.