Beginner - Introducing myself

Hello world

I am new to coding and my knowledge of coding is limited to FCC. I have just finished HTML5, CSS, and Responsive Design with Bootstrap lessons on FCC.

I have to admit the first few challenges started off as really simple and that gave me encouragement but at the same time i wondered how would these small exercises ever help me code an app. But as I advanced onwards, it got more and more complex. Sometimes I gave up and put a movie on because I couldn’t decipher what the hell the task was until i went back to it a few days later and figured this out.

At the moment, I work 7 days a week. I have a Monday to Friday 9-5 admin job, and at the weekend I drive taxis. I am not afraid of hard work, but at the same time it is not something i want to do for the rest of my life. Coding seems like an opportunity that will help me change career paths and land bigger and better jobs in the future.

Now that i have finished the Responsive Design with Bootstrap lesson, I have to say that I am starting to get a grasp of things. I am committing myself to coding every day for 25 minutes at least (Quincy’s suggestion on a youtube video). Finishing off the Responsive Design, I realised that everything that i learned at the beginning and in the middle, came together to help me through the end of these exercises, which is brilliant.

One method I am using to push myself to code everyday is, being accountable to my wife, sending her a screenshot or a small video of my coding screen, showing her which exercise I am on today. Every day that I miss a coding session, I have to pay her £40 which she must spend on herself on that exact day. Being the stinge-bag that i am, i haven’t missed a single day since we had this agreement.