Beginner looking for new career

Hi all,

I’m new here and so far I love this place. I’ve been studying the basics of HTML5/CSS3/Javascript from books. I’ve also learned core Python and core Java.

I want to know what’s the best direction to take in this field and what’s in demand.

Thank you

There are quite a bit of variables about “what’s in demand”. Depends on where you live, what kind of work place you want, how much you wanna make, etc…

Look for job openings in your area, there isn’t an exact answer. You have to research these things.

Yes there are many variables indeed. I understand from the research I’ve done that Javascript is the goto language for both front and back end. I haven’t done anything with Node.js yet and that’s why I’m here.

I also want to know what languages to invest in. I’ve done a bit of Java because the jobs in that language are phenomenally plenty and the pay is good. I worked in the telecom field for 18 years and come from a technical and math oriented background. I want to match or increase my previous salary of $37/hour which I was making in my previous career.

I hope that make things a little clearer. Thank you for the reply :slight_smile:

Depends on how much time you have avaiable. Understanding a single language is not a wise idea in general, you should be able to understand the principles behind each language, that way picking up a new language is usually just about getting used to the new syntax.
For example, most systems languages (C, Rust, C++ etc) have some sort of Enum implementation, but javascript doesn’t. If you learn javascript instead of learn about programming, you’ll be unable to implement your version of enum in javascript, because you will lack the underlying principle of what an enum is.