Beginner struggle

Hi everyone!
I started learning programming on https://www.freecodecamp.org/learn one week ago and I have already done every exercise in the Responsive Web Design course . I’m only missing 4 last projects.
But I have this feeling like I do not know anything. I did almost every exercise without help, but when it comes to really do something on my own I feel like I don’t actually know what am I doing. I do know the basics, but at the same time, I can not make some really cool websites.
I have also seen many other people here saying that they did this course for a month. Therefore I don’t know if I’m doing it right.
Has someone here the same problem or it is just me?

HI @Hanka !

You have to remember that it takes time to get good at anything in life.

Let’s look at the example of learning an instrument.

It doesn’t take that long to learn a few chords and play some basic songs.
But you are not going to have the skill set to play so more advanced or cooler pieces.

You have to keep working on your skill set until you can play those pieces of your dreams.

Same goes for coding.

You have achieved the first goal which is to learn some basics.
But it is going to take time and practice to be able to build cool professional websites.

Patience is key.

It is normal to feel like you don’t know anything because you just got started.
You have to keep building things, making mistakes, asking questions and moving forward.

If you stick with it then you will be able to build the websites of your dreams. :grinning:

6 Likes

Hi @Hanka

It happens with everybody in coding that you follow a tutorial and you seem to be understanding and you get down to do it yourself and feel like you don’t know anything.
The cool thing is the freecodecamp tutorials are still there for you to go back and reference. Do not be afraid to make mistakes, the forum is here support your learning journey.