C9 or develop locally for backend?

I’m getting ready to start the backend section of the course, and I’m a little torn between using C9 to develop everything or diving into the deep end and setting up a local dev environment.

I’m currently running Windows 10, but I have VMWare set up with Elementary OS (would probably switch to Manjaro or something). I have limited Linux experience, but I figure setting everything up would help increase that knowledge and would apply more to how a project works in the real world.

Any thoughts on this? I’ve seen a few people comment that they have done something similar. What was your experience like, and is it worth it?

Developing locally is great. It’s nice to have greater control of your environment and the tools you use.
Cloud 9 does how ever allow for pair programming.

3 Likes

You could use C9 but I don’t recommend it TBH.

Using a fully fledged local environment that you’ve took time to actually setup yourself is miles better than using online IDE’s. And if you want to be a serious developer in the long-term you have to learn basic tasks such as setting up your own development environment.

Also learn Vagrant! it’ll make your life much easier.

1 Like

Developing locally is good, and better if you don’t have Internet connection in a some moment.

1 Like

You’re probably going to want to do both at some point. Pair programming with an online IDE will allow for collaboration if you’re working with your partner at a distance. Neither of you will have to wait for the other to commit code to the repo before you can see changes. You’ll be able to work together in real time.

1 Like

Thanks for the replies! Based on this, I’ll learn the local environment first. Just have to get VMWare to play nice.

Any potential issues specific to FCC projects that I should keep in mind?