Can You Please Review My Resume?

Hi all,

I’ve been self-taught for a while and I want to start applying to test the water. Can you please take a second to review my resume? Any feedback is appreciated. Thank you!

Resume link: Imgur: The magic of the Internet
Portfolio Link: https://angry-knuth-03785d.netlify.app/

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @nuoya1996 !

Welcome to the forum!

Just a couple of thoughts.

I have never been a fan of skill bars

What does intermediate mean?
If we are working with different definitions of intermediate than this rating is kind of meaningless.

Also, you don’t need to rate yourself.
The perspective employer is going to judge you based on your work. Not a rating system.

I would personally remove it.

As for the projects, I think you should have a link for the live site and link for your code.

I am not sure why you have two sections for the same projects.

I think you should have one section just called projects.

Lastly, I think it would be nice to have a downloadable link for your resume.

Hope that helps!

1 Like

Hey @nuoya1996,

Firstly, I agree with @jwilkins.oboe with the Skill bar. I just don’t think that is the right thing. You might see it a lot, but that does not really help you. You would usually just wants to show what programming languages that you know. It is up to the employer to judge how your performance with a language and by rating it yourself, you might show to them what they don’t want to see.

Other than that, and others that @jwilkins.oboe said, your resume is great!

Hi,

Thank you for the feedback! I certainly didn’t expect a detailed response like this on the internet. :smile:

The way I rated myself is: I don’t think I’m a complete beginner as I’ve been learning for a while and I’m certainly not advanced or expert level, which puts me somewhere between beginner and advanced. But I do agree that skill bars can be quite misleading and will look to replace it with something else.