Career change looking for direction on where to start

Hi all I am 40 years old and wanting to change my career from an RN. I have been a nurse for 17 years I am tapped out of healthcare. I am wanting to work towards working with low code (preferably OutSystems). Anyone have a path recommendations to get the foundation before starting to learn OutSystems? I have no experience with coding so I know I need some kind of foundation but I am at a loss of where to take the 1st step. My research says to start with HTML, CSS and JavaScript. Is that a smart place to start? Any tips and tricks are greatly appreciated.

4 Likes

Welcome to FCC forum!
I’ve done some quick research on Outsystems (looks cool!) and it seems like the classic HTML, CSS and Javascript would be the right way to go. That being said, it seems like they use their own language too called Outsystems, which is reportedly similar to C# (another programming language)., so maybe you could start that too.
I’m not an expert so take everything I say with a pound of salt but really, you won’t be making a mistake in starting HTML and CSS.
Wishing you smooth sailing on your coding journey!
Nicolas

3 Likes

Nicolas
Thank you so much for responding! I greatly appreciate all the input. I am planning on talking to my husband soon about wanting to change my career to becoming a developer but wanted to make sure I had a plan before talking to him. He is a manager in OutSystems which is a partial reason I choose OutSystems. I also choose it since it looks to be very efficient. I plan to talk to my husband about what he recommends but I would like to have already done some reach and asking around before I approach him.
Kimberly

3 Likes

Hello!

Having a connection into the company, especially in management, will open doors for you, for sure. Networking is crucial in tech.