Certificate Projects and the honor system

Hello there,
Recently, I’ve been finishing one or two freeCodeCamp projects, since I’m a full-time developer, I usually don’t spend as much time on the projects and leave it at the bare minimum possible (i.e if pure HTML gets the tests to pass I wouldn’t go much further) with no UI/UX in mind.

I’ve come to understand that naturally, freeCodeCamp doesn’t review these projects and I’m not really required to post it on the forum for review either.

I believe merely getting the tests to pass (considering that I work on a higher level anyway) abides by the freeCodeCamp honor code, but I’d really love a second opinion. Does anyone here think I should do differently?

I’m open to suggestions as I’ve not yet finished off any certificates therefore I can already chnage things.

Hey. I cannot answer your question, but I want to point out that certificates contain links to your relevant projects. That might be an incentive to spruce them up a bit.

1 Like

Welcome there,

As far as you have explained, it sounds like you understand the requirements.

I would say this depends on your intentions…

If you intend to share these certificates with someone/anyone, then would you not prefer they looked the part?

If you are doing these projects/lessons as means of getting through the curriculum, and are not particularly interested in improving your styles (designer ability?), then I see no reason to do much else.

What to keep in mind:

• The point of the lessons is to provide a foundation you can build off of
  • The point of the certification projects is to practice without much hand-holding, and showcase your new-found skills
  • The point of the certificates is mostly just personal milestone
  • The point of freeCodeCamp is free education, and community - if you come away having learnt something, then you are correctly using freeCodeCamp at least in some way