Details for Portfolio

My portfolio is super lackluster. I have gotten my first developer job, worked on freelance projects, but I find it incredibly difficult to sell myself on my portfolio site. Are there some ways to find examples of what to put here.

My portfolio site is here. http://jbull.co

I know it needs more details, something, I don’t want to spend a ton of time on it, but you know.

To be perfectly honest, I’ve been a developer for years and I don’t even have a personal website, let alone a sexy portfolio.

1 Like

I used to have a portfolio site as well, but I have found that it was difficult to maintain. Any typo found on your portfolio site (which, with a quick glance at yours, I sadly did find a few) can come to betray you to a future employer. Everything, absolutely everything, you give to someone and say that you have built is used as a way of judging your abilities as both an employee and a programmer. Even if your programming is spot on, if they find extremely incorrect grammar or constant typos in work you give them, they are going to view that as an extremely bad sign. This is especially true in a portfolio. Mostly because a portfolio is viewed as “current work.” Which means everything they see on the website itself (not necessarily the projects) is what they would expect from you if they hired you tomorrow.

So, in my mind there are two very good options for developers to showcase their work:

1. An extremely well-done portfolio that is constantly updated and showcases everything perfectly (no broken links, typos, etc.).

2. A Github account with a slew of projects for employers to look through and evaluate.