Do I really need to know how to use git?[SOLVED]

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I’ve been trying to learn git for the past 2 weeks and I’m feeling really frustrated right now. I roughly know how to use GitHub but I’m really confused about git. I tried the udacity course, several youtube videos, tried the code school course on git but still don’t really understand how to use git.

I know most of the basic git commands but don’t know how git really works because all the tutorials keep talking about the commands only or creating new repositories and don’t really show how to link existing projects to git. Most of my projects are all on sublime and I have no idea how keeping track of changes really work on git. I’m feeling super confused right now.

I feel so lost and stupid that I don’t understand git at all.

Now, I’m just wondering do I really need to know how to use git? Can’t I just use GitHub only to work on projects with other people? Or do I really have to know how to use git? Is it necessary for me to be able to keep track of the changes/commits?

Does anyone have any really good tutorials on git? I haven’t totally given up on git yet.

5 Likes

Welcome to the forums!

You’re not stupid because you don’t understand git!

But, it is an essential skill you will need to learn eventually. It’s better that you learn it sooner and it’s great that you’ve already tried.

Now when you said you tried the Udacity course, how far did you get? When you came across something you didn’t understand did you try posting on their forums? You could also post here. Please ask questions when you don’t understand something, people here and on the udacity forums are here to help.

In my opinion, the Udacity (I assume you meant this one) course should be enough to get you on your feet.

6 Likes