ES6 - Really? This seems so un-intuitive

Is anyone else finding the ES6 stuff somewhat challenging??

Ive been coding in various langs on and off since 1979, so not exactly a novice, but to me the ES6 stuff is a real struggle. Its starting to feel a little like PERL - almost a set of random chars you just have to learn what they do.

Somehow the explanations in the ES6 module don’t seem as detailed as the other JS sections??

Anyone point me at a good resource to support the section?

You’re definetely not the first to have found ES6 to be a bit of a jump from the other Javascript challenges. However, once you get your head around a few new concepts it really does become intuitive from there.

I’d recommend this article here from FCC, it provides a good summary of most of the new concepts in ES6. Let us know if you’re having any more issues.

Yes, that looks useful - many thanks.

And at the risk of diverging the thread somewhat - having had a look through all of the JS section, I’m not seeing much that relates to the DOM?? Unless I’m missing something somewhere this seems puzzling, as the later frameworks stuff is surely going to rely on that?

1 Like

@cjrw42 I’ve recently finished Front End Development Libraries and can confirm up to this point there isn’t a section on DOM specifically, and I find that somewhat strange, too.
Some of the challenges do touch on DOM stuff slightly but they kind of explained it on-the-go.

And just to add my two cents to your original question, I find MDN web docs to be a good reference for the ES6 stuff in that they explain them in great detail including pointing out the trickier stuff (e.g. let & const have block scope, arrow functions don’t have their this binding etc.) upfront, and that they also provide links to even more detailed readings e.g. follow this link and look for “Exploring ES6.

Re DOM - manual DOM manipulation seems to be falling out of style, from what I hear.